The 2022/23 BMLAC track & field season came to a conclusion on Saturday with the Centre Championship Day held at Masons Lane Reserve.

Athletes competed in their 5 chosen events, with medals up for grabs for the top 3 placegetters.  The clinking of medals could be heard throughout the day as athlete’s outstanding results were rewarded.

The excitement from athletes as they arrived early for check-in and to prepare for the penultimate day of the season was exciting.  Mackenzie Estlick (Dolphins) who set a new Under 15 Triple Jump record breaking a 15 year old record jumping a new distance of 10.39m. Best of luck Macca for the Australian Little Athletics Championships next month.

During the lunch break the end of season raffle was conducted. Thank you to those business who donated prizes – Coles, Ballan Butcher, Sweet & Sassy, Rebel Sport (Community kick-back).

Once events had concluded, athletes and supporters came together for the 2022/23 Track and Field Season Centre presentations.  President, Maria Downes congratulated everyone on a fabulous season recognising our wonderful athletes, officials and all our valued sponsors.

Special thanks to the outgoing Committee members who will finish their time at BMLAC and especially Maria who is stepping down as President after 9 years in the position and particularly after a challenging last 12 months ensuring the Pat Lane Pavilion renovations were completed – thank you.

Little Athletics Victoria service awards were presented to 7 year participants – Jacob Ragusa, Charlie Del Mastro, Myah Estlick, Lillian Roberts, Harrison Lovett, James White.  10 year service certificates were presented to Alex Lloyd, Samuel White and Oliver Carr.

The Centre age group Champions and Runner-Up award winners were announced.

UNDER 6 – Kyson Berryman, Poppy McClure; Runner Up Kai Mills, Millicent Johansen

UNDER 7 – Hendrix Wake, Blaithe Fletcher; Runner Up Saatvik Dwarampudi, Olive Blockland

UNDER 8 – Jacob Cassar, Mia Dutt; Runner Up Kobi Hehir, Milla Jones

UNDER 9 – Lucas Priestley, Nyah Halfhide; Runner Up Sampath Dwarampudi, Mya Berryman

UNDER 10 – Angus Norman, Anni Clarke; Runner Up Liam Way, Alexis Farrell

UNDER 11 – Harrison Lovett, Halo Arahanga; Runner Up Ezekiel Horne, Billie Del Mastro

UNDER 12 – Dushan Baniluk, Mathilde Grant; Runner Up Elijah Sundqvist, Myah Estlick

UNDER 13 – Patrick Lovett, Evie White; Runner Up Nicholas Mai, Patrick Lovett

UNDER 14 – Nicholas Ide, Evie White; Runner Up Troy Lee, Sadie Jones

UNDER 15 – Felix Cukavac, Mackenzie Estlick; Runner Up Alex Lloyd, Hannah Lee

UNDER 16 – Samuel White, Emma Stewart

UNDER 17 – Braydn Rich, Bridie Shanahan; Runner Up Jonas Cukavac, Danielle Ide

The overall Centre Champions were awarded to Mia Dutt, Hendrix Wake (Juniors), Mathilde Grant, Harrison Lovett (Intermediate) and Mackenzie Estlick and Samuel White (Seniors).  Encouragement awards were presented to Jaz Ferreira, Alex Cauchi and Jacob Ragusa.  Special awards were presented to Skyla Berryman for the Jim Lilburne 100m Award, Nyah Halfhide for the Wayne Arnold High Jump award, Nicholas Ide was awarded the Troy Lorensini Sportsmanship Award, Mackenzie Estlick was presented with the Trevor Lyne Triple Jump trophy while Nicholas Ibrahim was the Most Improved athlete for the season.  The Egg Board Shield for the Champion Club was won by the Dophins.

The Centre will take a short break and will return for the Winter Cross Country season. The first competition will be held on Saturday 29th April at Masons Lane Reserve commencing at 10.30am.  Summer registered athlete fees include the Cross Country season, while new members are welcome to register for Cross Country for a small fee.

The Centre AGM will be held on Wednesday 3rd May at 7.30pm at the clubrooms.