The 2021/22 BMLAC summer season came to a conclusion on Saturday with the Centre Championship Day held at Masons Lane Reserve.

Athletes competed in their 5 chosen events, with medals up for grabs for the top 3 placegetters.  The clinking of medals could be heard throughout the day as athlete’s outstanding results were rewarded.

The Championships were conducted in perfect conditions as temperatures reached the mid 20’s and not a breath of wind to hamper the athlete’s performances.

The excitement from athletes as they arrived early for check-in and to prepare for the penultimate day of the season was exhilarating .  An amazing 379 Personal Best performances were recorded for the day.  Bridie Shanahan set her 9th Centre record for the season, increasing her own Under 16 Triple Jump record with a final distance of 10.57 metres.

During the lunch break the end of season raffle was conducted. Congratulations to the following prize winners – Jonas Cukavac, Ayden Shea, Xav Grant, Steve Banjamin, Pio Family, Cindy Hawken, King Berryman, Arthur O’Neill, Mathilde Grant, Paul Del Mastro, Anne Marie Booth, Jacob Cassar, Kerrie Shea, Wake Family, Geoff Brown, Will Davidson, William Collins.  Prizes were donated by the following local businesses – Jeff Jones Plants & Produce, Ballan Local Butcher, Coles, F45 Prodigy Bacchus Marsh, Rebel Sport and Arahanga Family.

Once events had concluded, athletes and supporters came together for the 2021/22 Track and Field Season Centre presentations.  President, Maria Downes congratulated everyone on a fabulous season especially during the difficult and trying times of the COVID pandemic.  Maria thanked all local businesses who continue to support the Centre and applauded all athletes and families on another successful season.

Little Athletics Victoria service awards were presented to 7 year participants – Deegan Doyle, Tanae Grero, Patrick Lovett, Nicholas Mai, Claudia Runge and Ethan Sayers.  10 year service certificates were presented to Summer Brigham, Ava Conroy, Tansy Seymour, Emma Smith, Emma Stewart, and Kira Watts.

The Centre age group Champions and Runner-Up award winners were announced.

UNDER 6 – Hendrix Wake Gigi Jones; Runner Up Winston O’Neill Sienna Dutt

UNDER 7 – Jacob Cassar Mia Dutt; Runner Up George Jacobsen Rylee Robinson

UNDER 8 – Lucas Priestley Evelyn Grant; Runner Up Hudson Grant Mya Berryman

UNDER 9 – Angus Norman Anni Clarke; Runner Up Nate Broadbent Scarlett Wake

UNDER 10 – Harrison Lovett Halo Arahanga & Iyla Robinson; Runner Up James White Billie Del Mastro

UNDER 11 – Ethan Ragusa Myah Estlick; Runner Up Elijah Sundqvist Mathilde Grant

UNDER 12 – Nicholas Mai Charlie Del Mastro; Runner Up Deegan Doyle Lucy Phyland-McClure

UNDER 13 – Nicholas Ide Evie White; Runner Up Troy Lee Sadie Jones

UNDER 14 – Felix Cukavac Mackenzie Estlick; Runner Up Alex Lloyd Hannah Lee

UNDER 15 – Samuel White Emma Stewart; Runner Up Matthew Elefterescu Summer Brigham

UNDER 16 – Braydn Rich Emma Smith; Runner Up Jonas Cukavac Danielle Ide

The overall Centre Champions were awarded to Mia Dutt, Lucas Priestly (Juniors), Anni Clarke and Angus Norman (Intermediate) and Mackenzie Estlick and Samuel White (Seniors).  Encouragement awards were presented to Cindy Hawken, Alex Cauchi and Amelia Horne.  Special awards were presented to Nelson Banigo for the Jim Lilburne 100m Award, Emma Smith for the Wayne Arnold High Jump award, Angus Norman was awarded the Troy Lorensini Sportsmanship Award, Bridie Shanahan was presented with the Trevor Lyne Triple Jump trophy while Samuel White was the Most Improved athlete for the season.  The Egg Board Shield for the Champion Club was won by the Boomerangs.

The Centre will take a short break and will return for the Winter Cross Country season. The first competition will be held on Saturday 30th April at Masons Lane Reserve commencing at 10.30am.  Summer registered athlete fees include the Cross Country season, while new members are welcome to register for Cross Country for a small fee.

The Centre AGM will be held on Wednesday 4th May at 7.30pm at the clubrooms.