On Saturday morning athletes participated in Cross Country at the YMCA Lake Dewar Lodge, Myrniong.  This venue will also host the upcoming Region and State Championships and our athletes took advantage of competing at the same venue in preparation.

The Under 6 athletes competed over a 500 metre course.  Elijah Grero took line honours while new member Jax Coulton continues to improve and crossed the line in 2nd place.  The Under 7 & 8’s  contested a  loop of the 1000 metre course.  Deegan Doyle recorded the fastest time, closely followed by Hudson Wisewould while Kobie Sabo narrowly pipped Maya Estlick for the girls.  Nicholas Ide was the standout performer in the Under 9/10 1500 metres, while only a few seconds separated William Flanagan and Oliver Carr for 2nd and 3rd respectively.  Mackenzie Estlick, Shameka Grero and Sarah Burton were the top 3 placegetters for the girls.  Mitchell Wells claimed victory over 2000 metres completing 2 laps of the 1km course.  2nd placed Elise Cook continues to narrow the gap over the boys, meanwhile Nate Sadhai was 3rd to cross the finishline.   Jack Mutsaerts remains unbeaten over 3000 metres, although this week Solomon Miesen pushed Jack over the first 2km and it wasn’t until the closing stages that Jack was able to pull away from Solomon. Bridget Henthorn was first female home, closely followed by Tamara Henry  & Grace Mutsaerts.

Next week the Centre will be holding the Annual Cross Country Open Day at Bullengarook.   Athletes and parents will walk the course at 10.30am with the first event to commence at 11am.  Athletes are required to wear their Subway registration tag for this event.  Medals will be presented to the first three placegetters in each age group and all competitors will receive a certificate of participation.  Entries close tomorrow, Monday 21st May. Entry Forms can be emailed to [email protected]   

The Perpetual trophy will be awarded to the Centre who accumulates the most points during the day’s competition.