The final Cross Country meet for the season was held on Saturday morning at Masons Lane Reserve. All athletes and supporters dressed up in blue to recognise the charity Fight Parkinson’s, in support of BMLAC Distinguished Service member Trevor Lyne, who is battling Parkinson Disease. The Centre also collected donations, raising $1272 for Fight Parkinson’s (formally Parkinson’s Victoria).
All races were conducted under a handicap format, calculated on each athlete’s average performance for the season.
The Open age athletes were first to compete, racing 3 laps of a 1km course. Sam White claimed line honours and recorded the fastest time for the day, running 3kms in 11:33.72 mins. Lily Norman was 2nd placed in the handicap with Lachlan Simons 3rd across the finish line.
The Under 6’s were next to race over 500 metres. Scarlett Tatchell claimed line honours while a fast-finishing Jude Brody-Wall, who started off scratch was second runner home and also recorded the fastest time. Front marker, Jaz Ferreira ran a fantastic race finishing in 3rd place.
The Under 7 & 8 athletes competed over a 1km distance. Handicap top 3 places went to Victoria Hannam, Gisborne’s Olivia Callister and Elouise Evans. Melton’s Chayse Johnson recorded the fastest time of 4:05.69 mins.
In the Under 9/10 1.5km handicap event Gisborne’s Kiara Callister was a clear winner. Front marker Sampath Dwarampudi held on for 2nd place with Melton’s Mahena Pirangi claiming 3rd place. Joshua Askew recorded the fastest time of 5:39.50 mins.
Melton’s Mitchell Elmer claimed line honors in the Under 11/12 2km handicap race while back marker Mathilde Grant held on for 2nd place with Chord Wilson (Melt) running a great race to take 3rd place. Ella Preddy (Melt) ran another fantastic race to claim the fastest time.
At the conclusion of all races, athletes, friends and family came together for the end of season Cross Country presentations.
The Champion athletes were announced with Junior Champions awarded to Fletcher Reid and Zyah Cameron. The Intermediate Champions were presented to Joshua Askew and Anni Clarke and the Senior award winners were Lachlan Simons and Mia Preddy.
Encouragement awards were presented to Archie Clarke & Victoria Hannam (Junior), Sampath Dwarampudi & Mathilde Grant (Intermediate) and Braydn Rich & Lily Norman (Senior).
The following athletes received their Bronze Shields after completing 25 Centre runs – Victoria Hannam, Bowie Clarke, Hayden Tung, Rylee Robinson, Tait Ash, Archie Clarke, Fletcher Reid, Harry Wark, Anni Clarke, Scarlett Wake, Logan Simons, Mathilde Grant, Lily Norman, Lachlan Simons. Bradyn Rich finished off his little aths career being awarded a Platinum Shield for 100 Centre runs. All other qualifying athletes were presented with participation awards. Well done to all athletes for a wonderful season.
Thank you to everyone who contributed to one of our biggest Cross Country seasons. To the rabbits and hares who guided and ensured the safety of our athletes – thank you! Special appreciation to Brenda and Brian who ran the weekly BBQ and once again the Ballan Butcher sausages were a massive hit on a cool Saturday morning. Thank you also to those who assisted at the finish line each week, whether it was recording, handing out placings, lining up our athletes or just ensuring the kids were well looked after; and to those who were course marshals – your help does not go unnoticed. A big thank you to our Cross Country Co-ordinator Brett Edwards, who not only set up our courses every week, but made sure athletes were prepared and ready for their races. And of course, a huge thank you to the parents/guardians who transported their kids to events throughout the Shire and supported them every week.
Good luck to the 17 BMLAC athletes who will represent the Centre next Saturday at the State Cross Country Championships at Lake Dewar, Myrniong.
While we all have a well-deserved break for a few weeks, it won’t be long until the new 2023/24 BMLAC Track & Field season kicks off on Saturday 7th October. Keep an eye on our Facebook page and emails for the opening of the LAVic registration portal.

2023 XC Handicaps